CloudBerry Lab has received multiple requests from customers who want to run full backup frequently for their data stored in cloud would’ve been up to date. Actually, users of CloudBerry Backup don’t need to run full backup and transfer all the data to storage every time.
CloudBerry Backup allows users to backup only modified and new files instead of transferring the full backup set. This ability can significantly reduce an amount of data transferred during a backup and increase speed of data upload. CloudBerry Backup supports versioning that allows users to keep multiple copies of each files and what is most important restore the full backup set to a certain point in time.
CloudBerry Backup users can define the number of versions of files to be kept on storage. It helps to allow full restore to any point in the past and to save a lot of storage by not storing full backups each time.
How to configure versioning
Start the Backup Wizard and go directly to the Purge step. On the Purge step of the Backup Wizard you can specify a number of days from creation of file in storage after which a file version will be deleted. This option can be used in common with other option “Keep number of versions” which allows you to specify a number of file versions that will be kept in storage. Also here you can choose to delete files that have been deleted locally - if files no longer exist on a local drive they will be deleted from cloud storage.
For example, you specify to keep 3 versions and set file version age as 7 days:
- Purging by number of versions: you already have three versions within 7 days. You changed the file again and you are going to run a backup, a new version will be uploaded to the storage and the earliest version will be purged because you set to keep only 3 versions. Finally, only 3 versions will remain on the storage (i.e. a new one plus two previous ones).
- Purging by file version age: you have two versions where the 1st version is dated 6 days ago, the 2nd - 2 days ago. The day after tomorrow the file will be changed and you will run a backup, the plan will create a new version of the file and purge the 1st version because it is out of date (more than 7 days old).